Has It Really Been a Year Already?!?

4 Apr

I can’t believe it but Zach and I are getting ready to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. This year has absolutely flown by. But that old cliché is true. “Time flies when you’re having fun.”  And this year has been an absolute blast.

To celebrate, Zach is taking me to Mammoth. I know. I know. We go there all the time. But this time, we’re staying at the Village. Which is one of the nicer, more romantic spots in town. (And there is snow in the forecast for Friday so hopefully it will look like this picture.)

Originally, I had our little red velvet wedding cake in the freezer which I had planned to save for our anniversary. But I really wanted to eat it while it was still semi-fresh so I convinced Zach to eat it on our 1 monthversary. I did save a couple of slices though so I’ll take them with us to Mammoth. (And if they taste like crap, we can always buy another pint of Ben & Jerry’s Red Velvet Cake ice cream . . .)

Since we won’t be in town for our actual anniversary, we got on our bikes on Sunday and rode down to visit our wedding spot – the Santa Monica Pier.

We got a new fortune from Zoltar.

Had our picture taken in the old taxi cab.

Stopped by Mariasol for a couple of drinks.

And paid a visit to the public observation deck, where we said our vows one year ago.

You may be wondering what I’m getting Zach for our anniversary. I told him about it yesterday since it won’t be ready for a while.

I am buying us a plaque with our names and wedding date which will eventually be installed on the wooden steps leading up to the observation deck.

I really like the idea of having our names permanently attached to this place that has become so important to us. Someone suggested we have our picture taken next to the plaque every year on our anniversary. I like that idea. Hopefully, we’ll collect at least 50 of those.

5 Responses to “Has It Really Been a Year Already?!?”

  1. Cheryl April 5, 2011 at 6:46 am #

    What an awesome idea! By the time you’re old and grey you’ll be able to look at how your family has changed and grown, all starting from that one spot and that one day. I love it!

  2. Jenn C. April 5, 2011 at 7:11 am #

    Happy anniversary! May you celebrate many many more.

  3. jesspgh April 5, 2011 at 8:25 am #

    Happy Anniversary! I love the photos and your gift for Zach. I also love that the pier is a place you will be able to go for the rest of your lives, to mark the occasion. So romantic! Mammoth sounds fantastic too!

    Chris and I still have our top tier in the freezer wrapped up. I hope it tastes alright for October. We’re coming up on 6th months this Saturday.

  4. Caroline, No April 5, 2011 at 8:32 am #

    Very cute, T! And I see you are on twitter – I am going to follow the f*ck out of you RIGHT NOW! xx

  5. Heather April 5, 2011 at 12:59 pm #

    I can’t believe it’s been a year, either!?!!??

    Congratulations to you both. I love how happy you are, Theresa, and I know Zach is, too. You are such a great match. You are inspiring…I’ll never forget that night when Zach was playing and you were singing “Hallelujah” ~ actual magic in the air.

    And how cool is the whole plaque thingy? Seriously, that’s really awesome.

    Have a great time celebrating in Mammoth – I hope it’s as twinkly and romantic as the gorgeous picture you posted.

    H

Leave a Reply

